Automated Security Testing

Hey team. I’m an application/cloud security professional and typically work with greenfield digital banks. I recently submitted a piece of analysis comprising various security risks I found while sleuthing around the Mango GitHub and testing some of the web interfaces. Most are fixed by now (haven’t fully re-validated), but similar to audits, point-in-time reports are, well, point in time.

I’d like to apply for a grant to build out more automated security testing as part of the Mango CI/CD pipeline with a view to reduce risks of security vulnerabilities going forward and shift security left in the development cycle.
Since it’d be the first time we’re working together, I’ll keep this initial scope relatively short and snappy to hopefully demonstrate value, with a view to hopefully build out the security maturity further in subsequent asks.

Initially, I’d like to target the following aspects:

1. Static code security analysis - Language specific tooling covering e.g. unsafe coding practices and OWASP top10 vulnerabilities on push and PRs
  2. Secrets detection - Identification of any unsafe use/disclosure of application secrets
  3. Dependencies - Scan dependencies for vulnerabilities on push, PRs and periodically

With a view to deliver the following outcomes:

1. Confidence that no known vulnerable code or dependencies are used for Mango (unless risk accepted)
  2. Streamlined and repeatable approach to secure development that scales
  3. A framework for building Mango-specific code rules of what is allowed, or not
  4. A notable step on up in security maturity and posture at low cost of developer impact and release velocity

Draft outline of activities:

1. Detailed requirement analysis: Understand current state practices, current tooling used, analyse languages used (rust, js/ts, etc.) and map to automated testing tools per repo (including dependencies)